Tale of a Lake nominated for an IFMCA Award

Tale of a Lake has been nominated for the Best Original Score for a Documentary award at the IFMCA Awards. The International Film Music Critics Association announced its list of nominees for excellence in musical scoring in 2016, for the 13th annual IFMCA Awards.

The previous film in the series, Tale of a Forest, won in the same category at the IFMCA Awards in 2012.

Other documentary award nominees this year include Bruno Coulais, Alberto Iglesias and Hans Zimmer. The International Film Music Critics Association will announce the winners on February 23, 2017.

Full list of the nominees:


  • JÄRVEN TARINA [TALE OF A LAKE], music by Panu Aaltio
  • PAPER LANTERNS, music by Chad Cannon
  • PLANET EARTH II, music by Hans Zimmer, Jasha Klebe, and Jacob Shea
  • LES SAISONS [SEASONS], music by Bruno Coulais
  • SPAIN IN A DAY, music by Alberto Iglesias
Panu Aaltio